Sip, stroll and admire Munger Place’s impeccable collection of arts and crafts houses

It’s no wonder Craftsman style homes are always near or at the top of the list when we talk about America’s favorite architectural style. It is timeless and offers clean lines and angles that are eminently pleasing to the eye.

That’s why Munger Place remains one of the most popular enclaves of historic Arts & Crafts architecture in Old East Dallas, and why you should also take the opportunity to attend the annual Munger Place Wine Walk on April 23. .

The event, which features five historic Munger Place homes for wine tasting from 4-8 p.m., is a great way to get a taste of this historic neighborhood and what makes it special: the people who live here.

There are two types of tickets – standard and premium – both of which are available now on the neighborhood’s Munger Place website. You can purchase a standard ticket for the Wine Walk for $30, which includes two wines at each house and appetizers. A premium ticket is available for $60 that gives patrons access to two sensational wines handpicked from Jimmy’s Food Store – an Old East Dallas institution. Premium ticket buyers also receive a Talulah & Hess Munger Place wine glass. Ticket price increases by $15 if purchased after April 16, so be sure to secure your pass now.

A party and raffle will be organized after the visit to the neighborhood’s hidden treasure restaurant, the Garden Cafe. Prizes will be given out and the ticket holder must be present to win. The full Munger Place Wine Walk map is available here.

For more information on these incredible historic homes, read on.

4926 Junius Street

Located near the center of a stately, tree-lined block, this home shines in a warm hue of buttery yellow, and the cozy wrap-around porch proves inviting year-round. From 1914 to the present day, music has been a recurring theme in this very well-preserved classic quadrangle. Mrs. Margaret Keehan, the daughter of the first owner, gave lessons in the music room and there has been a piano in this room ever since. The few successive owners have each passed on a small collection of memorabilia from the house, which will be exhibited. Original features reflecting over 100 years of loving care include light fixtures, pocket doors, chair rail and pine floors. The home received a Preservation Achievement Award from Preservation Dallas after its initial rehabilitation in the late 1990s. colours. The garage serves as an exercise room and games for the family, and the upstairs veranda has been converted into a home office overlooking the pool, which was added by the current owners in 2012. Going up the stairs, admire the handrail – salvaged from an Oklahoma hotel. (Feel free to ask the owners why it was installed upside down.)

5107 Tremont Street

Staying true to the historic character of the house while accommodating modern livability has been important to the current owners of this classic 1919 quadrangle. Under their care, several walls were removed or modified to expand certain areas of the house of 1900 square feet. To provide added comfort, spray foam insulation has been added under the floors, as have additional ventilation units and zoned mini-splits. A new fireplace mantle was fitted by chance and the hearth was upgraded to accommodate a very efficient gas heating system. Further renovations include the entire kitchen and three bathrooms, each of which now boasts reinforced floors and meticulous tiling work, all done by the owners. In fact, most renovations have been DIY projects. The tradition of the district says that former owners divorced but continued to live in the house – each on its floor – with a separate external staircase. Traces of this second floor entrance can still be seen on the side of the house. Inside, the top of the damaged stairs were recently redone with reclaimed pine stair treads. To the rear is a large garage and workshop, greenhouse and lovely flower beds and even vines.

4933 Tremont Street

If there’s anything vaguely familiar about this house, you may have visited it on the 2014 Home Tour, when it was shown in a somewhat raw state as a work in progress. Careful work, largely by one hand, took almost ten years, and now, since last September, a new owner is on the verge of restoring the house to its deserved shine. The 3,450-square-foot home, built in 1910, is a classic four-square with four bedrooms upstairs. Although the house once served as an eight-unit apartment – a first-floor bedroom still has its own entrance and porch – the spaces have been reopened to provide a natural, airy flow. Where the backyard was once beleaguered by a crumbling shed, a transformation is underway. Stepping out onto the soon to be screened back porch, there are now cedars, elms, ginkgo and catalpa adorning a tasteful yard. It’s remarkable what six dirt dump trucks and a bulldozer can do. A brick patio (and a door from the kitchen) are also provided for the side yard. In the front, note the rarely seen tube beam used to close off the porch.

4908 Worth Street

As you would expect from one of the oldest houses in Munger Place (circa 1905), this address has many stories. Even before it was built, the original owners apparently came to the site for a picnic and then planted the now massive pecan tree that towers over the backyard. A towering crape myrtle and a large gardenia have also accompanied the house for many, many years. When the small backyard pond was dug and landscaped decades ago, it started a trend in the neighborhood that continues to this day. It’s a common refrain that houses in the neighborhood have been divided up and reconfigured into boarding houses; one of the boarders here is said to have written the old classic “Home on the Range”. Once it was a single family home again, renovations included adding a back porch, enclosing that porch, adding a porch beyond, and enclosing that as well. Most recently, the house received the 2004 Preservation Achievement Award from Preservation Dallas. The new owners have been in the three-bedroom home for less than a year and plan to complete a third floor.

5019 Tremont Street

Porches abound in this 1908 home – front, side, back, and on both floors – with the second-floor veranda now serving as a spacious office. Purchased by the current owners in 2019, it was long the home of a wood carver and then a photographer. The spacious rear studio now serves as a sunny entertaining space, retreat, and (when the curtains are closed) a casual home theater. Inside the house, the astute hands of the current owners are very present. A series of projects has occupied them for three years. Walls were stripped, a fireplace was uncovered, and all electrical outlets and switches were removed and replaced. While scrubbing and refinishing all of the house’s doorknobs and crests, they confirmed that each doorknob is a unique piece of a fully-matched set. This is only a partial list of the efforts the owners themselves have undertaken to make this home unique. Oh, and just between you and me, a guy might need to know the secret trick to getting into a certain room here. (The basement has been converted into a cozy speakeasy with high tables and hand-painted “brick” walls.)

About Tracy G. Larimore

Check Also

Avery MacGuinness creates unique dresses from books

Avery MacGuinness. Photo by Angie Gray While studying fashion at school, 15-year-old Avery MacGuinness sewed …